Author Topic: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.  (Read 3196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jaxx89

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« on: 27 June, 2011, 17:22:35 »
Currently I am running Ptokax on my PC using Win7 OS. My net was down for a few days causing inconvenience to users.
Now I am planning to shift my Ptokax to host it on a web server.
The problem is that I have no idea how do go about it.

Can anyone please help me out with what am I supposed to do to host Ptokax on a Web server migrating my current ptokax with all scripts, settings and data

Thank you.

PtokaX forum

Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« on: 27 June, 2011, 17:22:35 »

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 475
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #1 on: 27 June, 2011, 17:47:33 »
Web server is something that is hosting web sites... dc hub is not web site, so you can't run PtokaX on web server ::)
You need to look for real server (not limited to web only). I'm using Virtual Private Server to host my hub (svn etc.) ::)
« Last Edit: 27 June, 2011, 17:50:08 by PPK »
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline Jaxx89

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #2 on: 27 June, 2011, 18:06:29 »
is it costly?? any free alternates
Help me out with the one u using
Thanks

Offline Psycho_Chihuahua

  • Systemspecialist IT
  • Emperor
  • **
  • Posts: 1 054
  • Karma: +112/-1
  • I am wherever i want to be
    • PtokaX Luaboard
Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #3 on: 27 June, 2011, 18:53:47 »
is it costly?? any free alternates
Help me out with the one u using
Thanks

You will have to look for offers in your area to find out about prices. My linux root server thats hosting this (and other) website as an example costs ~45? per month. As i have root access to the server i could also run ptokax on it. Ok, mine is linux based but you can get them with windows server as well just that i prefer linux as a server.
PtokaxWiki ?PtokaX Mirror + latest Libs

01100001011011000111001101101111001000000110101101101110011011110111011101101110001000000110000101110011001000000101010001101111011010110110111101101100011011110111001101101000

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 475
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #4 on: 28 June, 2011, 05:15:15 »
I have for "free" (setup cost 2 $) 400 MHz cpu, 256 MB ram, 5 GB hdd space, 10 mbps connection... without any support. Similar thing with support can be found for price 5 $ / month  ::)
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline KillerInstinct

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #5 on: 28 June, 2011, 12:48:45 »
or free ;)

PtokaX forum

Re: Migrate Ptokax to run on a web server.
« Reply #5 on: 28 June, 2011, 12:48:45 »