PtokaX forum

Archive => HOW-TO's => Archived 5.1 boards => Old HOW-TO's => Topic started by: Dessamator on 27 May, 2005, 18:09:02

Title: How To Create/add timer to a script
Post by: Dessamator on 27 May, 2005, 18:09:02
first of all add 2 functions:

function Ontimer()

end

function Main()

end


then add the the commands u need namely:

Timer
-----
StartTimer() -- Start Timer
SetTimer(TimeInterval) -- interval(or time to wait) in milliseconds
StopTimer() -- Stop Timer
GetTimer() - return timer state, 1 for enabled and nil for disabled.(to see if timer is on or off)
GetTimerInterval() - return timer interval(get Timer interval)


normally the timer is started in the main function and the interval is set there also eg.:

function Main()
SetTimer(1000) --> 1000 = 1 sec
StartTimer()
end


and in the ontimer you define what the action the script does when the "times up"(when the interval is over) eg.:

function OnTimer()
SendToAll("The Timer works Perfectly")
end

Title:
Post by: dragos_sto on 05 June, 2005, 13:33:07
if i whant to make 2  difference  thing on fuction OnTimer() on the basis of how time i put StartTimer() , or
it possible to make function like this :

function alabala()
StartTimer(x)
end
function burubu()
StartTimer(y)
end
function OnTimer(test)
if test == x do ...
elseif test == y do ...
else do...
end
end
Title:
Post by: Dessamator on 05 June, 2005, 15:22:09
QuoteOriginally posted by dragos_sto
if i whant to make 2  difference  thing on fuction OnTimer() on the basis of how time i put StartTimer() , or
it possible to make function like this :

function alabala()
StartTimer(x)
end
function burubu()
StartTimer(y)
end
function OnTimer(test)
if test == x do ...
elseif test == y do ...
else do...
end
end
nop, u cant do it like that,
to have 2 timers u need to use a script similar to OpiumVolage's multitimer , this one  (http://board.univ-angers.fr/thread.php?threadid=4011&boardid=26&sid=755ec838a7509849fc9eea41cd2e6619)  or something similar
Title:
Post by: dragos_sto on 25 June, 2005, 05:45:54
i have one question
what hapen if start timer twice ?
and not stop them between two StartTimer()


10x m8
Title:
Post by: Dessamator on 25 June, 2005, 09:45:34
nothing !