Author Topic: Charset issue with the Turkish translation  (Read 1471 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zapman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« on: 29 December, 2012, 10:42:01 »
Hi,

Now that I can play with 32bit builds of Ptokax, I took a look at the Turkish translation in case there would be stuff to fix. Indeed, there is some but more importantly, there's a glaring character set issue. In UTF-8, everything beyond the standard ASCII is screwed up. When I replace the Turkish.xml file with a new one in ISO-8859-9, diacritics (like ?, ?, ?) that are also found in Western European languages are displayed correctly but special Turkish letters (e.g. İ, ı, ğ, ş) are not ("ı" is displayed as weird y with an accent for instance). I attached a couple of screenshots so that you can have a quick idea of the problem. Also attached is Turkish.xml in ISO-8859-9 in case it would be helpful (converted from the UTF-8 encoded file after deleting the character at position 0).

How to fix this? I'm no coder so I don't know. As a very last resort I can replace the Turkish letters with their closest ASCII equivalents (i.e. ı would become i, ğ would become g etc.) as in the good old Commodore 64 days but I hope there will be a better solution than that.

P.-S.: Config info: The PtokaX version was 0.5.0.0-Lua5.2.1 on Wine 1.2 which itself runs on Ubuntu 10.04.4 Lucid amd64 (but Wine only accepts 32bit Windows applications).

PtokaX forum

Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« on: 29 December, 2012, 10:42:01 »

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 475
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline zapman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« Reply #2 on: 29 December, 2012, 13:25:52 »
I tried with Windows-1254 too but the result seems to be the same as when I used ISO-8859-9, the same problem occurs. (To test on your side, if the Start hub button doesn't show "Hub'ı başlat", then there's a problem.)

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 475
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« Reply #3 on: 29 December, 2012, 13:47:34 »
Looks ok for me with utf-8 file from you after i'm converted it to win-1254 8)
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline zapman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« Reply #4 on: 29 December, 2012, 15:26:11 »
Indeed, it looks perfect :) The problem is on my side then, i'll try to figure it out.

Also, I'd suggest a correction now that I could see the strings on the application: the current translation of "Discard", "At ??pe" should be "Vazge?".

PtokaX forum

Re: Charset issue with the Turkish translation
« Reply #4 on: 29 December, 2012, 15:26:11 »