PtokaX forum

Development Section => HOW-TO's => Topic started by: shaana on 19 September, 2018, 02:41:15

Title: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: shaana on 19 September, 2018, 02:41:15
I want to create DC++ network in my college. But, the problem is that since intranet in my college assignes IPs dynamically to systems. Because of which ip address of the hub PC is changed everytime. I want to create a hub which has a static IP address, so that other students have a single constant IP for a hub.

Please help me with this
Thankyou
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: the-master on 05 October, 2018, 11:50:32
Why to an IP? use an adress instead, can be assigned to the changed IP and done.
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: unknown[#] on 14 February, 2019, 06:33:11
Why to an IP? use an address instead, can be assigned to the changed IP and done.

How does one assign an IP to an address locally? I know that one can add IP and its hostname in the hosts file, but since the IP keeps changing frequently I don't want to edit again and again. Is there any way of automating the process, i.e., hostname always redirects to my local IP?
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: bastya_elvtars on 16 February, 2019, 17:04:19
but this is exactly what dynamic update clients are for. you get a blah.zapto.org address that is always bound to the IP the computer "gets" on the network
then you and your fellow hubbers use blah.zapto.org as the address
this should even work with nonroutable (that is, 192.168.x.x and 10.x.x.x) IP addresses
check out noip.com (free option available) or another dynamic dns hosting site
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: the-master on 23 February, 2019, 14:47:36
no-ip.com that is ;-)
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: unknown[#] on 17 March, 2019, 11:23:43
but this is exactly what dynamic update clients are for. you get a blah.zapto.org address that is always bound to the IP the computer "gets" on the network
then you and your fellow hubbers use blah.zapto.org as the address
this should even work with nonroutable (that is, 192.168.x.x and 10.x.x.x) IP addresses
check out noip.com (free option available) or another dynamic dns hosting site

Thank you for the reply.
I am currently running the hub locally. I tried no-ip for masking my local ip with hostname but it doesnt seem to work. Is there anyway to do this masking thing for an local ip?
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: bastya_elvtars on 20 March, 2019, 11:12:11
Quote
Thank you for the reply.
I am currently running the hub locally. I tried no-ip for masking my local ip with hostname but it doesnt seem to work. Is there anyway to do this masking thing for an local ip?

I was wrong: this will not work for non-routable adresses. That would require a separate DNS server, I've found a tutorial here (https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/16890/how-to-make-a-machine-accessible-from-the-lan-using-its-hostname). Please try these. (Isn't it an option to get a static IP for the hub server?)
Title: Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
Post by: unknown[#] on 24 April, 2019, 09:56:03
Thanks for the help
I will post up with the results later (and method too if successful)