Author Topic: system crash  (Read 3759 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ubikk

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: +0/-0
system crash
« on: 20 December, 2004, 11:55:33 »
Before I installed PtokaX I hadn't had any problems.
But now, when I run my DC program and ptokax hub, my computer is reseting 3 or 4 times a day... I dont get it, why does my system crash so often?  :( Could it be an incompatibity between my DC program (0.306) and my hub server 0.3.2.6 TD4 ... ?

PtokaX forum

system crash
« on: 20 December, 2004, 11:55:33 »

Offline BoJlk

  • Lord
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: +2/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:04:09 »
Quote
Could it be an incompatibity between my DC program (0.306) and my hub server 0.3.2.6 TD4
No such thing.
the problem can be from the OS you running...
And state your OS version and error you get.

Offline n1ck

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:15:47 »
'Fault finding'....

a) try another hubsoft
b) try another client software

 Either way these are really unlikely to cause pc failure, but on the off chance check!

 No doubt you are using Xp sp2? About as stable as a big bag of unstable things, carried by a one legged man on ice!
dcuk.direct-connect.co.uk

**compiled bots are like what microsoft is to open source!**

Offline enema

  • Lord
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Karma: +1/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:18:25 »
Quote
Originally posted by n1ck
 No doubt you are using Xp sp2? About as stable as a big bag of unstable things, carried by a one legged man on ice!

ha ha haaa... LOL, my thoughts exactlly!
8)  mitava.no-ip.org   8)

Offline Ubikk

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:24:54 »
I'm using Windows XP SP1 ;)

But I guess I will reinstall my OS :P

The error I get is one of the most beautiful errors of Windows.
All aplications die, and the screen becomes blue and has a very annoying message...
"IF this is the first time you see this screen then reset your computer.... bla bla" :D

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:26:05 »
the problem is not SP2 but XP itself. xp sucked @ me bad. now i am using 2k pro and it works like a dream.
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline n1ck

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:30:31 »
win2k Pro is the best windows.


(but unfortunately thats like saying Spice girls are the best girl band, still crap but better than the others lol)


P.s its the one i use too lol
dcuk.direct-connect.co.uk

**compiled bots are like what microsoft is to open source!**

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 20 December, 2004, 12:38:34 »
Quote
Originally posted by n1ck
win2k Pro is the best windows.


(but unfortunately thats like saying Spice girls are the best girl band, still crap but better than the others lol)


P.s its the one i use too lol

lol :D

btw if there was a linux hubsoft that uses the PtokaX LUA API i would not bother with windows.
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline n1ck

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 20 December, 2004, 13:23:46 »
Quote
Originally posted by Ubikk
I'm using Windows XP SP1 ;)

But I guess I will reinstall my OS :P

The error I get is one of the most beautiful errors of Windows.
All aplications die, and the screen becomes blue and has a very annoying message...
"IF this is the first time you see this screen then reset your computer.... bla bla" :D

 Yeah most probably a Os failure rather than Px or client side. Sorry to hear about your blue screen of death problems, be safe in the knowledge that we've all been there and no doubt will visit it again!
dcuk.direct-connect.co.uk

**compiled bots are like what microsoft is to open source!**

Offline ARCHANGEL

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 23 January, 2005, 13:21:20 »
I used to get a resetting problem when I ran 0.306, when I updated no more resets. It could be coincidence of course. I've also seen a mate have resetting problems when using Tiny Firewall Pro, he swapped back to Sygate Pro and no more problems, could again be coincidence though.

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 23 January, 2005, 13:45:13 »
my 3 fav BSOD's:

inaccessible boot device

page fault in nonpaged area

irq not less or equal

there is 1 more kernel-related, just keep forgetting it.  :]
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline Psycho_Chihuahua

  • Systemspecialist IT
  • Emperor
  • **
  • Posts: 1 054
  • Karma: +112/-1
  • I am wherever i want to be
    • PtokaX Luaboard
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 23 January, 2005, 15:35:28 »
Quote
Originally posted by n1ck
win2k Pro is the best windows.


(but unfortunately thats like saying Spice girls are the best girl band, still crap but better than the others lol)


P.s its the one i use too lol

I prefer Win 2003 SP1  :D
PtokaxWiki ?PtokaX Mirror + latest Libs

01100001011011000111001101101111001000000110101101101110011011110111011101101110001000000110000101110011001000000101010001101111011010110110111101101100011011110111001101101000

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 23 January, 2005, 16:03:39 »
me2

i laughed for 15 minutes when i first saw the "YOU can only download from this website if you add it to trusted sites list" message.

and it did BSOD every 15 min.

so no 2k3 pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaase
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline Typhoon

  • Lord
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +22/-3
  • PGE Developer
    • PGE Homepage
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 24 January, 2005, 20:01:54 »
hmm, first thing sp2 and ptokax and dc++ 0.306 runs just fine here , so maybe some other software are making your problem.. never had problems with winblows and ptokax ,, all problems i've had were firewall based ;o) , so check that one out

Typhoon?

p.s.
hi bast you old crankyanker :p hopeing to see you back soon at our secret hiding place :) best of luck from me ;)

Typhoon?



PtokaX forum

(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 24 January, 2005, 20:01:54 »