Author Topic: [0.3.5.2]  (Read 6473 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
[0.3.5.2]
« on: 15 November, 2006, 08:18:02 »
i have a very stable connection with plenty of bandwidth spare thus plenty of CPU spare so my computer is not generaly over worked but i cant explain why users keep dropping out of my hub all the time?
quite a few of my users have reported this to me since ive changed to 0.3.5.2. ive also been told from several other hub owners that have changed to 0.3.5.2 that they also have the same problem and that they have rolled back to an earlier version to avoid this problem.
i tested this myself by connecting to my hub from another location several miles from my home and i was disconnected 3 times in 2 hours for no reason. i posted this here incase anyone else was having the same problems as me.

thanks

PtokaX forum

[0.3.5.2]
« on: 15 November, 2006, 08:18:02 »

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #1 on: 15 November, 2006, 09:13:58 »
could you provide some more info please ?
What is your total bandwith download/upload ?
What is your O/S, memory and cpu + usage by PtokaX ?
What is that "previous" version that worked better ? (exact version name plz)
How many users does the hub have by average ?
Are there any other hubs running ?

This would help in determining if there's a problem

Offline -SkA-

  • Double Ace
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Karma: +24/-2
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #2 on: 15 November, 2006, 11:49:28 »
I have 7 hubs running with the latest ptokax release.

I got disconnected from no one of them and also users don't complain about disconnection at the moment.
???:::??x??em?-N????:::??? ?wN??

BrianzaLand Blog" style="border:0

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #3 on: 15 November, 2006, 12:31:48 »
You can run wireshark to get what's happening.
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 479
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #4 on: 15 November, 2006, 16:01:50 »
Maybe PtokaX UDP-Debug Receiver show reason why they are disconnected... most of disconnects is because connection reset (WSAECONNRESET) ::)
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline Tw?sT?d-d?v

  • Lord
  • ***
  • Posts: 436
  • Karma: +79/-2
    • EURO-OP
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #5 on: 15 November, 2006, 22:50:27 »
I have also had the same probs uses disconnect ... but i also had this on 0.3.5.1 . (gone back to 0.3.4.0 )

10MB connection Unsure on download/upload      but told unlimited downloads if that helps
Win XP ,P4 ,1024 ram ,5% CPU usage by ptokax .
Previous stable version for me is 0.3.4.0
Average users count is   70 - 90

Am now running   PtokaX UDP-Debug Receiver   to see if i can narrow down prob/solution



Offline Samantha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #6 on: 15 November, 2006, 23:44:59 »
i also gone back to 0.3.5.0 lua5.1 and notice more users in with less disconnects and also notice that the latest version hangs a lot when entering compared to the 0.3.5.0 so that suggest that there is a problem with the latest release
« Last Edit: 15 November, 2006, 23:48:20 by Samantha »

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #7 on: 16 November, 2006, 12:35:38 »
Quote
so that suggest that there is a problem with the latest release

There has been some changes towards LUA libraries as well. So a problem could also be caused by a script. Best way is to test without any running scripts. I myself, do not have any problems with the 0.3.5.2
But like PPK said, that Debugger will show information on why disconnects occur, so please use it and see.


Offline xvk

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #8 on: 16 November, 2006, 16:33:44 »
Hi
What does recv() error WSAECONNRESET. User is being closed. mean if there in several hubs and only getting disconnected in this one.

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #9 on: 16 November, 2006, 18:19:37 »
WSAECONNRESET
10054

Quote
Connection reset by peer.
An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host. This normally results if the peer application on the remote host is suddenly stopped, the host is rebooted, the host or remote network interface is disabled, or the remote host uses a hard close (see setsockopt for more information on the SO_LINGER option on the remote socket). This error may also result if a connection was broken due to keep-alive activity detecting a failure while one or more operations are in progress. Operations that were in progress fail with WSAENETRESET. Subsequent operations fail with WSAECONNRESET.

For a complete overview of Windows Socket Error Codes, click
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms740668.aspx

Basically there are alot of causes for a WSAECONNRESET to occur.
A communication interruption between server and host for example will cause a WSAECONNRESET.
This interruption can be caused by insufficient bandwith, ISP routing issue, 1 of the communicating clients, the operating system, routers, or simply a lost package.
I'm sure there's more reasons to it, and I'm no WinSock expert.
I do know that it occurs, and I do know it occurs regardless of hubsofts

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #10 on: 16 November, 2006, 20:28:06 »
WSAECONNRESET
10054

For a complete overview of Windows Socket Error Codes, click
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms740668.aspx

Basically there are alot of causes for a WSAECONNRESET to occur.
A communication interruption between server and host for example will cause a WSAECONNRESET.
This interruption can be caused by insufficient bandwith, ISP routing issue, 1 of the communicating clients, the operating system, routers, or simply a lost package.
I'm sure there's more reasons to it, and I'm no WinSock expert.
I do know that it occurs, and I do know it occurs regardless of hubsofts

that doesnt explain why it happens more with the last release of PtokaX [0.3.5.2] so that link would be void in this perticular matter although every release is definatly getting better.
my starting this thread was not to complain but just to bring attention to this matter and to see if i was the only one that was having the same issue with this particular version. anyway i will try that app as PPK suggested and i will report back with my findings.

thanks

ruler

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #11 on: 16 November, 2006, 23:55:00 »
Sorry for the confusion ruler. My answer was to xvk 's question. Maybe I should have qouted him  ;)
But yea, please posts some results. It would help to find out if/why this version has more disconnects than others

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #12 on: 17 November, 2006, 11:43:12 »
Maybe PtokaX UDP-Debug Receiver show reason why they are disconnected... most of disconnects is because connection reset (WSAECONNRESET) ::)

i notice there were no instructions on how to use this app, does it this app need to be run from any spacific folder or can it be run from anywhere? also are the ports on which it listens important?
thanks

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #13 on: 17 November, 2006, 12:14:00 »
i notice there were no instructions on how to use this app, does it this app need to be run from any spacific folder or can it be run from anywhere? also are the ports on which it listens important?
thanks

The Debugger itself can be run from anywhere. The port is in so far important as it should not be in use yet. The default port is 422.
Select a port and click on Listen.
Then go to the mainchat of your hub and type  !debug <port in debugger> on           ( by default  !debug 422 on )
You will then receive a message back from the hubsoft:

Quote
*** You are now subscribed for Debug messaging on UDP port 422. To unsubscribe type !debug off in mainchat.

Go back to the Debugger and you can see that an extra tab named as your hubname has opened.
In there, you will receive the information.

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #14 on: 17 November, 2006, 12:57:11 »
yup thats working now and thanks
ive noticed only after a few seconds of enabling that there is already loads of peeps being disconnected  ???

11:51:02 - [HUB] Subscribed.
11:51:02 - [HUB] Users online: 101
11:51:02 - [SYS] New Debug subscriber: [RAW]Owner.ruler (84.9.150.83)
11:51:56 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for CAS_1980 (82.153.29.192) - user disconnected.
11:52:07 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for WildboY (213.100.134.147) - user disconnected.
11:52:19 - [SYS] Ghost crispy (84.92.185.142) closed.
11:52:22 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Eric_Red (82.67.176.231) - user disconnected.
11:52:44 - [SYS] Nick taken [xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79)] xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79) - user closed.

strange

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #15 on: 17 November, 2006, 16:59:47 »
15:47:57 - [ERR] munter_82 (81.230.196.212): recv() error WSAECONNRESET. User is being closed.
15:48:31 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for WildboY (213.100.134.147) - user disconnected.
15:48:41 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for 47??tud!o? (87.74.5.136) - user disconnected.
15:48:50 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for james (85.217.34.78) - user disconnected.
15:49:02 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Eric_Red (82.67.176.231) - user disconnected.
15:49:06 - [SYS] Login timeout 20 seconds for 89.0.6.238 - user disconnected.
15:49:30 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Pawian77777 (83.22.112.129) - user disconnected.
15:49:41 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for mol0tov (217.23.249.83) - user disconnected.
15:50:02 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for CAS_1980 (82.153.29.192) - user disconnected.
15:50:20 - [SYS] Nick taken [xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79)] xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79) - user closed.
15:51:13 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Eric_Red (82.67.176.231) - user disconnected.
15:51:17 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for WildboY (213.100.134.147) - user disconnected.
15:51:31 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for 47??tud!o? (87.74.5.136) - user disconnected.
15:51:34 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Pawian77777 (83.22.112.129) - user disconnected.
15:51:41 - [REG] Hub is registered on dreamland.gotdns.org hublist (Users: 89, Share: 30824085908498)
15:51:41 - [REG] RegSock connect error WSAECONNREFUSED (10061). (reg.hublist.org)
15:51:47 - [REG] Hub is registered on hubs.hublist.co.uk hublist (Users: 89, Share: 30824085908498)
15:51:48 - [REG] RegSock connect error WSAECONNREFUSED (10061). (bwhubreg.no-ip.info)
15:51:50 - [REG] Hub is registered on reg.ancient.pl hublist (Users: 89, Share: 30824085908498)
15:51:50 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for mol0tov (217.23.249.83) - user disconnected.
15:51:58 - [REG] RegSock connect error WSAETIMEDOUT (10060). (zengeday.sytes.net)
15:52:07 - [REG] RegSock connect error WSAETIMEDOUT (10060). (hublist.uknnet.com)
15:52:15 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for CAS_1980 (82.153.29.192) - user disconnected.
15:53:07 - [SYS] Nick taken [xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79)] xy{crocket} (82.38.60.79) - user closed.
15:53:23 - [SYS] Login timeout (3) 120 seconds for Eric_Red (82.67.176.231) - user disconnected.
15:53:27 - [LOG] Cannot allocate memory in UserPutInSendBuf!
15:53:27 - [BUF] kalle507 (213.66.19.17): Re-allocation of sendbuf failed in 'sendbuflen < sbdatalen+iTxtLen' condition.
15:53:27 - [LOG] Serving stopped (UL: 3491039 [193232] , DL: 188111)
15:53:27 - [ERR] accept() has returned an INVALID_SOCKET.
15:53:27 - [ERR] accept() has returned an INVALID_SOCKET.
15:53:27 - [ERR] accept() has returned an INVALID_SOCKET.
15:53:27 - [ERR] accept() has returned an INVALID_SOCKET.

then hub crashed disconnecting everyone. for some reason when running that app that PPK suggested it seems to crash the hub all the time. earlier my hub was running at 100% cpu and wouldnt respond at all, i had to restart my computer to get it all working again ???

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #16 on: 17 November, 2006, 17:44:22 »
Quote
earlier my hub was running at 100% cpu and wouldnt respond at all

You wouldn't happen to have Norton Internet Security running would you ? That caused that problem for me on hub crash

Quote
for some reason when running that app that PPK suggested it seems to crash the hub all the time

I had that problem too. After a first crash, it keeps crashing on hub-startup with the Debugger active..But since I was the only 1 with that problem and I got specific memory allocation errors, we came to the conclusion it was my computer screwing up  :P  So now I'm not too sure about that either.

The rest of the information seems valuable to me, so let's see what PPK can do with it :) Thanks

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #17 on: 17 November, 2006, 18:28:11 »
i have two main rules which i ALWAYS abide by, i NEVER install anything norton related and NEVER install anything yahoo related. hope that clears that matter up  ;D
im using a normal modem with only XP firewall and McAfee AV nothing more. here are my hub stats ...

<[=R=D=]Bot>
------------------------------------------------------------
Current stats:
------------------------------------------------------------
Version: PtokaX DC Hub 0.3.5.2 built on Nov  1 2006 11:01:55
Uptime: 0 days, 1 hours, 27 minutes
Users (Max/Actual Peak (Max Peak)/Logged): 400 / 101 (153) / 100
Users shared size: 32840752886751 Bytes / 29.87 TB
Chat messages: 17 x
Unknown commands: 0 x
PM commands: 0 x
Key commands: 482 x
Supports commands: 512 x
MyINFO commands: 685 x
ValidateNick commands: 448 x
GetINFO commands: 0 x
Password commands: 87 x
Version commands: 223 x
GetNickList commands: 249 x
Search commands: 1274 x (0 x)
SR commands: 814 x
CTM commands: 6528 x (0 x)
RevCTM commands: 3229 x
BotINFO commands: 0 x
------------------------------------------------------------
CPU usage (60 sec avg): 0.15%
CPU time: 0:00:06
Mem usage (Peak): 6.59 MB (9.84 MB)
VM size (Peak): 6.58 MB (6.89 MB)
------------------------------------------------------------
SendRests (Peak): 0 (0)
RecvRests (Peak): 0 (2)
Compression saved: 472.25 kB (43)
Data sent: 15.53 MB
Data received: 771.11 kB
Tx (60 sec avg): 6.66 kB/s (4.50 kB/s)
Rx (60 sec avg): 114 B/s (148 B/s)

my PC is not over loaded in anyway by either CPU, memory or internet bandwidh and the problem only started 'after' i upgraded to ver [0.3.5.2] the logs are already massive on [registered] users that are being disconnected all the time. its more than i knew about

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 479
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #18 on: 20 November, 2006, 00:30:43 »
the logs are already massive on [registered] users that are being disconnected all the time
As i see in you log, they are disconnected in state 3... internal name for state number 3 is STATE_VERSION_OR_MYPASS... maybe they don't enter password when hub asked it  ???
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #19 on: 20 November, 2006, 00:48:40 »
they get in eventually but then later they disconnect again. i had to uninstall that app cos it kept crashing the hub all the time and with it running the user count was seriously lower than normal (25% lower)
im wondering if it might be crappy clients/hack versions that it has a problem with? if that is the case then im happy with it disconnecting them  ;D

PtokaX forum

Re: [0.3.5.2]
« Reply #19 on: 20 November, 2006, 00:48:40 »