Author Topic: How to install Ptokax on a web server?  (Read 4028 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline taltul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« on: 17 January, 2008, 18:13:15 »
Hi,

can i install Ptokax on a web server  (it supports PHP, mySQL...)?
If not, is there another HUBsoft that can be installed?

Thank you!

PtokaX forum

How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« on: 17 January, 2008, 18:13:15 »

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 480
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #1 on: 17 January, 2008, 18:36:40 »
No, you can't install hub on webserver ::)
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline taltul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #2 on: 17 January, 2008, 19:17:31 »
Hmm... well i don't know a lot about this stuff... i only know that there shouldn't be any technological problem to do it... i mean what's the difference between a portal like Joomla or a PHP forum board and a DC server in terms of resources needed to run them?
I guess no one had written a version suitable to work on a webserver...
Thanks anyway!

Offline eagle00789

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #3 on: 21 March, 2008, 01:21:22 »
Why would you want to run Ptokax on a webserver anyway? Besides that, the differences between a webserver and Ptokax is so big, that i wont even start to mention them here.

Offline taltul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #4 on: 22 March, 2008, 02:31:26 »
Why would you want to run Ptokax on a webserver anyway? Besides that, the differences between a webserver and Ptokax is so big, that i wont even start to mention them here.

here are a bunch of reasons:

1. A web server is up 99.9% of the time.
2. Putting a hub on my computer takes up memory & CPU and I own a low end computer....
3. I have a web server
4. A web server has much bigger download & upload rates therefore can be a better hub.

But really, reason 1 alone should be enough!

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 480
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #5 on: 22 March, 2008, 03:05:34 »
Web server is for serving web pages, you can't run on that anything else. If you want something to run hub then look for server.
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline taltul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #6 on: 22 March, 2008, 23:14:54 »
The two servers do use the TCP protocol but in vastly different ways.
HTTP HEADER, GET and POST are hardly the same as a $Lock CTM or $Send.

The web server uses The HTTP spec and the hub, NMDC protocol, and thus
apples and oranges. You could script this in PHP, Perl/CGI but again, why?

1. A web server is up 99.9% of the time.
So then can the hub be. As are my many Web, FTP & Mail servers, DC hubs and client all happy together.
2. Putting a hub on my computer takes up memory & CPU and I own a low end computer....
If you're worried about the resouces PtokaX uses, consider trashing that old 486 SX 25  :P. I run many hubs on a 900Mhz
3. I have a web server
I have great legs, must I brag? Px is clearly available too, hmmm... both!? interesting concept.
4. A web server has much bigger download & upload rates therefore can be a better hub.
What's relevant here is the speed of your connection as that depicts the speed for either. They will both have that limit
A hub downloads and uploads very little and basically just text communication. File transfers are Peer To Peer.

I just don't see the sense in coding such a thing to run one protocol over another.
You haven't offered any valid reason to even consider doing it IMHO.

Are you kidding? how can I further explain? can't you see the huge advantage of having a hub that isn't running on your computer?
You can claim that it doesn't strain the CPU and it's bandwidth is negligible but in reality, a 500 users hub will take up both. we have hubs here that just crash ten times a day because of too many users on a too week computer.
Besides, a personal computer needs to be restarted once in a while because it's very dynamic... you install new programs, you change all kinds of settings... you don't want to think twice about whether or not you should reset your computer. Also, a computer sometimes crashes for unknown reasons and needs to be restarted but YOU can't monitor your computer at all times... you gotta sleep sometime! but a server is always monitored ensuring the 99.9% uptime.
Another thing is firewall! what if I'm in a university that blocks this kind of communication indiscriminately,  and i wish to have a hub that is accessible by outside users.
In my case, the university actually outlawed the operation of any kind of p2p server within the university network anyway.

Offline taltul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #7 on: 23 March, 2008, 17:23:42 »
i wish i could remotely host a hub... but i have no remote computer.

PtokaX forum

Re: How to install Ptokax on a web server?
« Reply #7 on: 23 March, 2008, 17:23:42 »