Author Topic: PtokaX on Linux  (Read 5595 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wafeliron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
PtokaX on Linux
« on: 25 June, 2008, 12:47:16 »
Quote
Solved it myself

Viewed te log
25.06.2008 12:52:41 - Resolving of hostname '<Enter hub address here>' has failed.
Check the address please.
25.06.2008 12:52:51 - Resolving of hostname '<Enter hub address here>' has failed.
Check the address please.
25.06.2008 12:54:10 - Resolving of hostname '<Enter hub address here>' has failed.
Check the address please.
25.06.2008 12:54:12 - Resolving of hostname '<Enter hub address here>' has failed.
Check the address please.
25.06.2008 12:55:33 - Resolving of hostname '<Enter hub address here>' has failed.
Check the address please.
25.06.2008 12:58:06 - Serving started

Edit the Settings.xml
<String Name="HubAddress">192.168.0.2</String><!-- Hub address. Min length 1, max 256. -->





Dear developers/users,
I compiled the source with succes for linux but i tried to running the hub with various commandline arguments but always says

jerry@jerry-desktop:~/PtokaX$ sudo ./PtokaX
[sudo] password for jerry:
Server start failed!

tried running as user and as root

I think we should make a better the output better if there is a error or something failt.

Greets,
Jerry from the netherlands
« Last Edit: 25 June, 2008, 13:04:00 by wafeliron »

PtokaX forum

PtokaX on Linux
« on: 25 June, 2008, 12:47:16 »

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #1 on: 25 June, 2008, 13:43:38 »
Editing the xml to provide a valid address for the hub to run on is provided in the documentation

Offline Psycho_Chihuahua

  • Systemspecialist IT
  • Emperor
  • **
  • Posts: 1 054
  • Karma: +112/-1
  • I am wherever i want to be
    • PtokaX Luaboard
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #2 on: 25 June, 2008, 18:50:57 »
easy way round:

1. Take a windows machine and download/setup the gui version
2. after all has been configured, take the config files from that windows version and place them under the linux one
3. start the linux hub

easy as 1, 2, 3 ;)
PtokaxWiki ?PtokaX Mirror + latest Libs

01100001011011000111001101101111001000000110101101101110011011110111011101101110001000000110000101110011001000000101010001101111011010110110111101101100011011110111001101101000

Offline wafeliron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #3 on: 27 June, 2008, 00:32:38 »
easy way round:

1. Take a windows machine and download/setup the gui version
2. after all has been configured, take the config files from that windows version and place them under the linux one
3. start the linux hub

easy as 1, 2, 3 ;)

That's lame,
Just need it to get running without the operating system without a window, i need a full house!

Offline Psycho_Chihuahua

  • Systemspecialist IT
  • Emperor
  • **
  • Posts: 1 054
  • Karma: +112/-1
  • I am wherever i want to be
    • PtokaX Luaboard
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #4 on: 27 June, 2008, 06:51:44 »
it's in no way lame at all - just trying to help you get everything configured as quick as possible.
You can also edit the cofig.xml by hand in your fav linux editor for all i care. Using the windows Gui for this is however quicker and easier.
PtokaxWiki ?PtokaX Mirror + latest Libs

01100001011011000111001101101111001000000110101101101110011011110111011101101110001000000110000101110011001000000101010001101111011010110110111101101100011011110111001101101000

Offline PPK

  • Administrator
  • Emperor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1 479
  • Karma: +209/-22
  • PtokaX developer
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #5 on: 27 June, 2008, 11:15:41 »
Gui version is working under wine, so no need to have windoze  :P
"Most of you are familiar with the virtues of a programmer. There are three, of course: laziness, impatience, and hubris." - Larry Wall

Offline CrazyGuy

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
  • Karma: +83/-20
    • ?????=-_The NightHawk_-=?????
Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #6 on: 27 June, 2008, 13:38:53 »
how about editing the example Settings.xml with a text editor ?
I'm pretty sure someone wrote a text editor for Linux, and if not, then that's lame (if we must use that term) and the O/S should be avoided.
Either way, the xml file is provided with the installation and just needs to be copied.
This information is provided in a file called Readme.txt . I guess you should do what it suggests (and read it ;))
The only line that needs to be changed is HubAddress (and port if you don't wanna setup using default port).
American Idiot and I both wrote scripts that you can run in the hub to do the rest of the setup.

No O/S emulators are needed.
If you think it's too hard to edit an xml file, maybe you would have been better off with clickable Windows desktop icons after all 8)

PtokaX forum

Re: PtokaX on Linux
« Reply #6 on: 27 June, 2008, 13:38:53 »