Author Topic: Hub on a dynamic IP  (Read 25005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shaana

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hub on a dynamic IP
« on: 19 September, 2018, 02:41:15 »
I want to create DC++ network in my college. But, the problem is that since intranet in my college assignes IPs dynamically to systems. Because of which ip address of the hub PC is changed everytime. I want to create a hub which has a static IP address, so that other students have a single constant IP for a hub.

Please help me with this
Thankyou

PtokaX forum

Hub on a dynamic IP
« on: 19 September, 2018, 02:41:15 »

Offline the-master

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +10/-15
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #1 on: 05 October, 2018, 11:50:32 »
Why to an IP? use an adress instead, can be assigned to the changed IP and done.
keep on sharing :)
dchub://kickincountryhub.no-ip.org

Offline unknown[#]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #2 on: 14 February, 2019, 06:33:11 »
Why to an IP? use an address instead, can be assigned to the changed IP and done.

How does one assign an IP to an address locally? I know that one can add IP and its hostname in the hosts file, but since the IP keeps changing frequently I don't want to edit again and again. Is there any way of automating the process, i.e., hostname always redirects to my local IP?

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #3 on: 16 February, 2019, 17:04:19 »
but this is exactly what dynamic update clients are for. you get a blah.zapto.org address that is always bound to the IP the computer "gets" on the network
then you and your fellow hubbers use blah.zapto.org as the address
this should even work with nonroutable (that is, 192.168.x.x and 10.x.x.x) IP addresses
check out noip.com (free option available) or another dynamic dns hosting site
« Last Edit: 16 February, 2019, 17:05:58 by bastya_elvtars »
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline the-master

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +10/-15
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #4 on: 23 February, 2019, 14:47:36 »
no-ip.com that is ;-)
keep on sharing :)
dchub://kickincountryhub.no-ip.org

Offline unknown[#]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #5 on: 17 March, 2019, 11:23:43 »
but this is exactly what dynamic update clients are for. you get a blah.zapto.org address that is always bound to the IP the computer "gets" on the network
then you and your fellow hubbers use blah.zapto.org as the address
this should even work with nonroutable (that is, 192.168.x.x and 10.x.x.x) IP addresses
check out noip.com (free option available) or another dynamic dns hosting site

Thank you for the reply.
I am currently running the hub locally. I tried no-ip for masking my local ip with hostname but it doesnt seem to work. Is there anyway to do this masking thing for an local ip?

Offline bastya_elvtars

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 3 744
  • Karma: +173/-7
  • The rock n' roll doctor
    • The FreshStuff3 Site
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #6 on: 20 March, 2019, 11:12:11 »
Quote
Thank you for the reply.
I am currently running the hub locally. I tried no-ip for masking my local ip with hostname but it doesnt seem to work. Is there anyway to do this masking thing for an local ip?

I was wrong: this will not work for non-routable adresses. That would require a separate DNS server, I've found a tutorial here. Please try these. (Isn't it an option to get a static IP for the hub server?)
« Last Edit: 20 March, 2019, 11:14:03 by bastya_elvtars »
Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.

Offline unknown[#]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #7 on: 24 April, 2019, 09:56:03 »
Thanks for the help
I will post up with the results later (and method too if successful)

PtokaX forum

Re: Hub on a dynamic IP
« Reply #7 on: 24 April, 2019, 09:56:03 »