Author Topic: Server hosting for DC++ hub  (Read 6407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Crni_Panter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Server hosting for DC++ hub
« on: 25 February, 2005, 09:45:32 »
Does anyone have a link for a server to host a dc++ hub??? I need something cheap or free :)
krajinausrcu.no-ip.com

ludilo-hub.no-ip.com

exyu-balkan.no-ip.org

PtokaX forum

Server hosting for DC++ hub
« on: 25 February, 2005, 09:45:32 »

Offline (uk-kingdom)John

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +2/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 25 February, 2005, 11:24:46 »
http://sh3lls.net has cheap shell accounts, i've seen a few hubs running from them but havent got my own one online yet. They run freebsd so check them out if your good with freebsd :)

Offline ARCHANGEL

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 25 February, 2005, 16:47:49 »
Nice link, its on the the blocklist from methlabs and Bluetack.

Offline plop

  • Forum God
  • ****
  • Posts: 2 464
  • Karma: +37/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 25 February, 2005, 17:58:19 »
Quote
Originally posted by ARCHANGEL
Nice link, its on the the blocklist from methlabs and Bluetack.
maby check your setup there, not all the lists are bad ip ranges.
for example there is a list with universety ranges.

plop
http://www.plop.nl lua scripts/howto\'s.
http://www.thegoldenangel.net
http://www.vikingshub.com
http://www.lua.org

>>----> he who fights hatred with hatred, drives the spreading of hatred <----<<

Offline Crni_Panter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 01 March, 2005, 15:13:04 »
http://www.nexgenis.com/    
I found this site but dont like it too mouch. Hehe. Does anyone know any other servers for hub???
krajinausrcu.no-ip.com

ludilo-hub.no-ip.com

exyu-balkan.no-ip.org

Offline (uk-kingdom)John

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +2/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 01 March, 2005, 19:36:11 »
lol for the prices on that you would be better off getting your own dedicated server and selling web hosting from it to pay for it.

Offline Crni_Panter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 02 March, 2005, 11:05:26 »
Quote
Originally posted by (uk-kingdom)John
lol for the prices on that you would be better off getting your own dedicated server and selling web hosting from it to pay for it.

well where i live 100mbit line costs about 1000? a month sooo its a litle problem about getting my own server and you need a company to get it normal people cat have it :(

Anyone else know for a cheap server for hub???
krajinausrcu.no-ip.com

ludilo-hub.no-ip.com

exyu-balkan.no-ip.org

Offline bolamix

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +4/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 02 March, 2005, 12:08:18 »
Why look for an external host? Most hubs I know are hosted on each hubmaster's own machine, on regular DSL connections... Sure, you need a rather fast connection and high-end PC if you wanna host several 100s users, but even then... I doubt if a hub would use more than a tiny proportion of a 100 Mb line.
For comparison, my hub (50-100 users) runs on a P2@233 with 128 Mb ram, through a 1200/200 aDSL line...
Sharing is of the essence!

Live music >> Aiwadirock! live music hub
PtokaX knowledge >> The PtokaX Wiki

Offline (uk-kingdom)John

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +2/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 02 March, 2005, 18:08:46 »
Quote
Originally posted by bolamix
Why look for an external host? Most hubs I know are hosted on each hubmaster's own machine, on regular DSL connections... Sure, you need a rather fast connection and high-end PC if you wanna host several 100s users, but even then... I doubt if a hub would use more than a tiny proportion of a 100 Mb line.
For comparison, my hub (50-100 users) runs on a P2@233 with 128 Mb ram, through a 1200/200 aDSL line...

the bigger hubs 5000+ use something like 50mb/s+ when its busy i think, and a lot of bandwidth that some isp's don't let u have.

Offline bolamix

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +4/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 02 March, 2005, 19:54:59 »
There are hubs with 5000+ users? 8o I've been in a hub with 300 ppl in it once and I thought "that's too big"... I guess running a small hub makes for a certain "small is beautiful" mindset :P
Sharing is of the essence!

Live music >> Aiwadirock! live music hub
PtokaX knowledge >> The PtokaX Wiki

Offline Crni_Panter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 03 March, 2005, 14:26:47 »
Quote
Originally posted by bolamix
Why look for an external host? Most hubs I know are hosted on each hubmaster's own machine, on regular DSL connections... Sure, you need a rather fast connection and high-end PC if you wanna host several 100s users, but even then... I doubt if a hub would use more than a tiny proportion of a 100 Mb line.
For comparison, my hub (50-100 users) runs on a P2@233 with 128 Mb ram, through a 1200/200 aDSL line...

Its cheaper to pay about 5-20$ a month for a server than pay 50$ a month for a 1024 down / 256 up adsl line
krajinausrcu.no-ip.com

ludilo-hub.no-ip.com

exyu-balkan.no-ip.org

Offline MaGiC-fLaVa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 09 March, 2005, 18:23:51 »
Lol he said its cheaper to by your own dedicated server instead of going with Nexgenis.com? For an unmetered Dedicated Server on a 4 Gbit packbone with each hub being able to use 100mbit there are no better prices. Sure you can buy a dedicated server for $69 a month just like our 2500 user hub. But remember they limit you to say 1000 GB a month or 2000 GB a month. Running a 2500 user hub on that you'll be out of bandwidth within 2 weeks and have wasted your money. We offer great support and have great servers. Don't be scare to come to our site and talk to a sales rep if you have any questions.

-MF

PtokaX forum

(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 09 March, 2005, 18:23:51 »