Author Topic: How To Create/add timer to a script  (Read 2415 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dessamator

  • Scripter
  • Emperor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1 262
  • Karma: +13/-9
How To Create/add timer to a script
« on: 27 May, 2005, 18:09:02 »
first of all add 2 functions:

Code: [Select]
function Ontimer()

end

function Main()

end


then add the the commands u need namely:

Code: [Select]
Timer
-----
StartTimer() -- Start Timer
SetTimer(TimeInterval) -- interval(or time to wait) in milliseconds
StopTimer() -- Stop Timer
GetTimer() - return timer state, 1 for enabled and nil for disabled.(to see if timer is on or off)
GetTimerInterval() - return timer interval(get Timer interval)


normally the timer is started in the main function and the interval is set there also eg.:

Code: [Select]
function Main()
SetTimer(1000) --> 1000 = 1 sec
StartTimer()
end


and in the ontimer you define what the action the script does when the "times up"(when the interval is over) eg.:

Code: [Select]
function OnTimer()
SendToAll("The Timer works Perfectly")
end

Ignorance is Bliss.

PtokaX forum

How To Create/add timer to a script
« on: 27 May, 2005, 18:09:02 »

Offline dragos_sto

  • Double Ace
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +7/-1
  • World round and round ...
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 05 June, 2005, 13:33:07 »
if i whant to make 2  difference  thing on fuction OnTimer() on the basis of how time i put StartTimer() , or
it possible to make function like this :

function alabala()
StartTimer(x)
end
function burubu()
StartTimer(y)
end
function OnTimer(test)
if test == x do ...
elseif test == y do ...
else do...
end
end
« Last Edit: 05 June, 2005, 13:33:47 by dragos_sto »

Offline Dessamator

  • Scripter
  • Emperor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1 262
  • Karma: +13/-9
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 05 June, 2005, 15:22:09 »
Quote
Originally posted by dragos_sto
if i whant to make 2  difference  thing on fuction OnTimer() on the basis of how time i put StartTimer() , or
it possible to make function like this :

function alabala()
StartTimer(x)
end
function burubu()
StartTimer(y)
end
function OnTimer(test)
if test == x do ...
elseif test == y do ...
else do...
end
end
nop, u cant do it like that,
to have 2 timers u need to use a script similar to OpiumVolage's multitimer , this one  or something similar
Ignorance is Bliss.

Offline dragos_sto

  • Double Ace
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +7/-1
  • World round and round ...
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 25 June, 2005, 05:45:54 »
i have one question
what hapen if start timer twice ?
and not stop them between two StartTimer()


10x m8

Offline Dessamator

  • Scripter
  • Emperor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1 262
  • Karma: +13/-9
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 25 June, 2005, 09:45:34 »
nothing !
Ignorance is Bliss.

PtokaX forum

(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 25 June, 2005, 09:45:34 »