Author Topic: ***ptokax source code  (Read 6137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
***ptokax source code
« on: 03 December, 2003, 22:01:51 »
Why is there no source code for the ptokax project?
I thought it was an open source project, or is it?

PtokaX forum

***ptokax source code
« on: 03 December, 2003, 22:01:51 »

Offline xjr13sp

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: +0/-0
??????
« Reply #1 on: 03 December, 2003, 22:17:15 »
Are you dreaming????
I hope it will never be!!  X(

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 03 December, 2003, 22:23:19 »
are you lame?
why shouldnt it be, its the only way to ever get the bugs fixed in the hubsoft cos they will never do it!

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 04 December, 2003, 18:36:44 »
c'mon don't hold out on us!

Offline Troubadour

  • Scripter
  • Lord
  • ******
  • Posts: 309
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Be yourself, there are plenty others allready.....
    • Jeugdhonk
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 04 December, 2003, 19:56:13 »
Quote
Originally posted by ruler
are you lame?
why shouldnt it be, its the only way to ever get the bugs fixed in the hubsoft cos they will never do it!

If you are that good with programming, start your own and leave us ptokax users in peace!

-Troubadour-
Regards,

Troubadour

** Guardian Forum **

hubaddy:   nederfun.no-ip.com

Offline pHaTTy

  • Forum Legend
  • ***
  • Posts: 1 916
  • Karma: +5/-1
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 05 December, 2003, 03:15:05 »
Excellent post Troubour

ruler........ptokax is freeware....not open source....i believe yep
Resistance is futile!

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 05 December, 2003, 18:44:00 »
Quote
Originally posted by (uk-kingdom)pH?tt?
Excellent post Troubour

ruler........ptokax is freeware....not open source....i believe yep

But why does it have General Public Licence in the hubsoft? everyone knows what GPL means :)
No disrespect to you all but i have probably been one of the biggest fans of ptokax but this is like clutching at straws :( i could understand is it were a client being used for faking but no so, we only wish to help perfect something that could be something usefull for all.
anyone would think we were asking for your soul!
progress is a great thing but not if nothing ever progresses.
btw Troubadour, i'm just someone who repairs things that dont work, i am just curious as to why such simple bugs cant be solved.
i am not here to take the piss, i am only interested in the same as everyone else (helping and repairing). maybe you dont want help but there is loads of people that do including myself. btw i am only interested in the Ice Cube Build IV its the only one that almost works properly.

have a good day :)

Offline pHaTTy

  • Forum Legend
  • ***
  • Posts: 1 916
  • Karma: +5/-1
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 05 December, 2003, 18:58:05 »
Quote
Originally posted by ruler
Quote
Originally posted by (uk-kingdom)pH?tt?
Excellent post Troubour

ruler........ptokax is freeware....not open source....i believe yep

But why does it have General Public Licence in the hubsoft? everyone knows what GPL means :)
No disrespect to you all but i have probably been one of the biggest fans of ptokax but this is like clutching at straws :( i could understand is it were a client being used for faking but no so, we only wish to help perfect something that could be something usefull for all.
anyone would think we were asking for your soul!
progress is a great thing but not if nothing ever progresses.
btw Troubadour, i'm just someone who repairs things that dont work, i am just curious as to why such simple bugs cant be solved.
i am not here to take the piss, i am only interested in the same as everyone else (helping and repairing). maybe you dont want help but there is loads of people that do including myself. btw i am only interested in the Ice Cube Build IV its the only one that almost works properly.

have a good day :)

Simple bugs???

simple bugs, read what you said and then tell me which are simple bugs please, have you ever tried to sort a memory issue in Borland C++??

give it a shot and youll find its not simple

i believe ptaczek is doing a great job :))
Resistance is futile!

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 05 December, 2003, 19:18:38 »
yes i know C++ and use it everyday :)
the first problem is that he has designed most servers to parse usless data and an inbuilt bot is a total waste of time, not to mention waste of bandwidth/memory/CPU :)
why not remove the inbuilt bot and leave that all (totally scripted)? will get more ppl looking and using your scripts and keeping users off ptaczek's back (as he is now working alone) while he can concentrate on future servers?

lets be honist the hubs/slots/ratio and a few other sections don't work properly anyway so it would clean up a lot of the problem.
you will never catch most fakers so hubs/slots/mode/connection type's/client types is pretty much a big waste of parsing/memory/CPU.
thats why i say (clutching at straws).
i also agree with you that ptaczek is doing his best and i admire the man for that but i am also sure that even you can see my point?
Ice Cube Build IV  only needs a few simple  mods to be a great server and this is why i was hoping for source as i am aware that he is no longer interested in that version(which is a shame)

btw there is realy no harm in asking, if i don't ask then i will never get!

thanks

Offline pHaTTy

  • Forum Legend
  • ***
  • Posts: 1 916
  • Karma: +5/-1
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 05 December, 2003, 19:22:15 »
errumm no you are wrong, it does not waste cpu bandwidt etc etc, by having it inbuilt it saves all that, scripts use more then inbuilt, it cuts down the scripting usage, much better

and btw yep Ice Cube IV is really good, i still use it he he he, but i also run td4 for other comp, depends where i am running my server from what mood i am in he he he :))
Resistance is futile!

Offline IceCoder

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +0/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 05 December, 2003, 19:25:18 »
that is true but speak with ptaczek about that..

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 05 December, 2003, 19:42:41 »
all we want to do is include the TimeBan()  feature to the Ice Cube Build IV but slightly changed version so it would tell the connecting user who banned the user and why they were banned also amount of time they are banned!
and the same with the PermBan. most users don't ever know why they were banned? this would solve a massive problem on DC.
the slots/hubs/ratio doesnt work on all clients so i still think that part would be best scripted.

this to me and many users would be a perfect server :)

Offline kepp

  • Scripter
  • King
  • ******
  • Posts: 790
  • Karma: +2/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 05 December, 2003, 19:59:04 »
For those who actually knows C++, it is a great idea.
issues with a free-source:

When people get their hands on those codes.
You may not notice tomorow, but sooner or later PtokaX will end up like Y-Hub, A update once day.
Which is not so good...

So i do not agree with an open source..
(Maybe for one of the latest verisions)

However, i do agree with all inbuilt, the bot for instance...
(But hey, I don't know anything at all about C++ and therefore i can't really say so much)

But i don't think ptaczek work alone on PtokaX.
no doubt he's sahring his ideas with another good C++ scripter.

4-5 Scripters on a project is better than one
Guarding    

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 05 December, 2003, 21:52:03 »
hmm 143 click in less than 2 days :)   this must be a popular subject  ;)

Offline SaintSinner

  • Lord
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
  • Karma: +1/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: 05 December, 2003, 22:09:50 »
Quote
Originally posted by ruler
hmm 143 click in less than 2 days :)   this must be a popular subject  ;)


not really
i just think you check for replies every 20 min.

 :D  :D  :D  :D
jus kiddng...lol
« Last Edit: 05 December, 2003, 22:10:23 by SaintSinner »
   


Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: 10 December, 2003, 18:45:38 »
:D
« Last Edit: 10 December, 2003, 21:47:57 by ruler »

Offline mOrrI

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Online Casino Tips
hum...
« Reply #16 on: 10 December, 2003, 20:04:11 »
Ruler...
If u want the SOURCE CODE OF THE HUB go here:

Source Code

And don't thank me... :p

Offline pHaTTy

  • Forum Legend
  • ***
  • Posts: 1 916
  • Karma: +5/-1
(No subject)
« Reply #17 on: 10 December, 2003, 20:11:07 »
Resistance is futile!

Offline mOrrI

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • Online Casino Tips
hum...
« Reply #18 on: 11 December, 2003, 04:44:03 »
loooollllll

Offline Guibs

  • Double Ace
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +3/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #19 on: 11 December, 2003, 09:26:01 »
Hi there,,  

ruler,
Why don't you ask directely to the concerned people,... instead of making a crap thread like that one ? :)

As you're a clever person, able to program and doing a great hub soft, i guess you're also able to find ptaczek mail's,... or contact him by Pm,...

None interest in such post,....
-- Please,... don\'t ask help in Pm,...Forums are made for that, to help everyone & my Inbox pm will be safe,... Thks,,  :))  --
CB forum     /     CB Home page

Offline ruler

  • Triple Ace
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • DCHubAd
(No subject)
« Reply #20 on: 24 December, 2003, 00:04:26 »
if i wanted a mupet then i would have asked for one ;)

PtokaX forum

(No subject)
« Reply #20 on: 24 December, 2003, 00:04:26 »