Author Topic: GetInfoByName problem.  (Read 2002 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shurlock

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +1/-0
GetInfoByName problem.
« on: 04 June, 2004, 23:21:16 »
Hi experts!

Need a bit of help here....

From existing scripts I've learned how to retrieve a users nick using the command GetInfoByName(nick)

Next thing I would like to know is how to retrieve the IP in the same way.

I suppose it would be something like GetItemByName(user.sIP) ??

Yes, I know.... try it out and see. Not that simple though, because the hub is running and I have no way of experimenting.

Thanks in advance!
If it's raining and your roof leaks, fix the roof. DON'T try to stop the rain!!

PtokaX forum

GetInfoByName problem.
« on: 04 June, 2004, 23:21:16 »

Offline nErBoS

  • Emperor
  • **
  • Posts: 1 149
  • Karma: +3/-1
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 05 June, 2004, 00:17:12 »
Hi,

Is not GetInfoByName() but GetItemByName(),it will work as the table user.

GetItemByName(nick).sName
GetItemByName(nick).sIP
GetItemByName(nick).iVersion
GetItemByName(nick).sMyInfoString

GetItemByName(nick) will return nil if the nick isn't online.

Best regards, nErBoS
« Last Edit: 05 June, 2004, 00:17:34 by nErBoS »
--## nErBoS Spot ##--

Offline Shurlock

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +1/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 05 June, 2004, 00:48:36 »
What would we starting OP's do without you people??

Thanks nErBoS!
If it's raining and your roof leaks, fix the roof. DON'T try to stop the rain!!

Herodes

  • Guest
BTW
« Reply #3 on: 05 June, 2004, 02:44:59 »
Quote
Originally posted by Shurlock
Yes, I know.... try it out and see. Not that simple though, because the hub is running and I have no way of experimenting.

U can setup another PtokaX ... running in a different port ...
There's your own "TestHub" ! :D

Offline Shurlock

  • Fulll Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +1/-0
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 05 June, 2004, 03:11:45 »
Hi Herodes,

Thanks for the tip. But.... for some reason or other it doesn't seem to work locally (127.0.0.1:412) to get the messages through for me as OP.
All other instructions work, except for anything that has to do with OP's. Strange, but I can live with that 'as is'. As long as I  know for certain that the script instruction is correct.

Once the hub is running the way I wish it to, I will be spending more time on the subject of some instructions not working the way it would normally do 'external'.

Of course I am always willing to learn! Should there also be a probable reason for the above, I would just LOVE to hear it !!!

In any case.... thanks for the reply.
If it's raining and your roof leaks, fix the roof. DON'T try to stop the rain!!

Herodes

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 05 June, 2004, 05:10:08 »
Hope you Connected with the correct account ...
Check to see if the nick u use to connect to ur testHub is the same in the PtokaX Under "Ops and Bans" Buttonin the Registered Users frame ...
Check the pass too .. :P
I don't think that from What ip u connect has to do with the Profile at all ...

PtokaX forum

(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 05 June, 2004, 05:10:08 »